PRAISE Awards Marks PPA 41st Anniversary Celebration

To give due recognition to the deserving regions and employees who work hard in implementing the rehabilitation program of the Parole and Probation Administration (PPA), an awarding ceremony was the highlight of the 41st anniversary celebration of this Administration with the theme, “PPA @ 41: Bridging Lives, Empowering People, Creating Myriads of Hope for a Stronger and Drug-Free Nation” held last July 21, 2017 at the DOJ-PPA Multi-Purpose Hall in Quezon City.

The annual awards given by the National Committee on Program on Awards and Incentives for Service Excellence or PRAISE have six (6) categories. Winners of each category were as follows:

Outstanding Employee :

Emma Y. Narciso (R-VI) – 1st Place

Frances M. Tomelden(R-I) – 2nd Place

Edna V. Osiana (R-V) – 3rd Place

Outstanding Livelihood Project:

Region-VI – 1st Place

Legaspi City PPO (R-V) – 2nd Place

San Fernando City PPO (R-I) – 3rd Place

Outstanding Implementer Rehabilitation Program:

Laoag City PPO (R-I) – 1st Place

Bacolod City PPO (R-VI) – 2nd Place

Naga City PPO (R-V) – 3rd Place

Outstanding Region: Region VI

Outstanding Division:

Case Management  and Records Division – 1st Place

Financial Management Division – 2nd Place

Sagip Kalikasan: La Union Province PPO (Region I)

Winners in the different categories received cash prizes ranging from Php2,000 to Php10,000 while other entries were given a Certificate of Appreciation for their participation in the PRAISE Awards.

The awarding rites commenced with an opening remarks by Deputy Administrator Lorna A. Yumul, who is also the chairperson of the PRAISE Committee, while Administrator Manuel G. Co gave the anniversary message. In his speech, he reminisced the humble beginnings of PPA and its development up to the present. He also envisioned the future of the Administration as an institution for corrections.

Meanwhile, loyalty awards were also conferred to employees who have served PPA for 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years. A token of wall clock or wristwatch was given to the awardees. Administrator Co was the lone awardee for 35 years of service in this Administration.

ARD Janette S. Padua of the PPA-National Capital Region and Atty. Melbian Jerome Laraño of the Legal Division hosted the anniversary program.